

IN THIS ISSUE

Page 1

Letter From Editor

Page 2
WMR Officials

Page 3
2023 New Membership

Page4
Membership Recognition





Greetings, fellow SCCA aficionados of West Michigan Region!

As the vibrant engines of our SCCA community roar to life, it is with immense excitement and unwavering passion that I take the helm as your new Backfire Editor. My name is Matthew Koster, and I am thrilled to share the twists and turns of our exhilarating journey together.

At 39 years young, I've found myself captivated by the heart-pounding pulse of motorsports and the electric camaraderie that courses through the SCCA. Four years ago, I embarked on a memorable adventure alongside my equally enthusiastic fiancée Robyn Sawyer, diving headfirst into the world of SCCA in the Land O Lakes Region. We moved back to my hometown of Lowell MI and instantly became members of WMR. I was fortunate to be able to visit Grattan Raceway Park many times as a child and the track has created great memories for me long before I was ever a member in SCCA. From the exhilaration of the racetrack to the shared laughter and stories at events, every moment has been a chapter in a story I'm deeply proud to call my own.

To say that I love everything about the SCCA is an understatement. The roar of engines, the smell of race fuel and burning rubber, the thrill of competition – they have woven themselves into the fabric of my being. And now, as fate would have it, I've taken up the torch of the Newsletter Editor role, a volunteer position that has me revved up to explore every avenue our club offers.

But this newsletter is not just about my journey – it's about all of us. It's about the shared experiences, the triumphant victories, the camaraderie that transcends checkered flags. It's about celebrating the passion that ignites our engines and fuels our dreams.

Through the pages of this newsletter, I aspire to bring you more than just updates and announcements. I aim to craft a tapestry that captures the essence of our SCCA community – the diverse individuals, the families, the rookies, and the veterans. From riveting race day recaps to in-depth interviews with seasoned drivers, from tips and tricks for track enthusiasts to heartwarming stories of SCCA friendships forged on and off the circuit, this newsletter will be a chronicle of us.

As we embark on this thrilling journey together, I welcome your thoughts, your stories, and your passion. Let's make this newsletter a testament to our shared dedication and a rallying point for our shared aspirations.

Buckle up, West Michigan SCCA family, for a ride that promises adrenaline, community, and the sweet scent of victory. With your engines revving and my keyboard clicking, let's make this newsletter an emblem of our shared love for the SCCA and a tribute to the bonds that drive us forward.

See you on the podium!

Revving with enthusiasm,

Matthew Koster

Backfire Editor, West Michigan Region SCCA

2023 WESTERN MICHIGAN REGION OFFICIALS

Regional Executive

Lenny Basaj 4576 Clark St. Whitehall, MI 49461 (231) 557-3694 lenny.basaj@gmail.com

Secretary and Grid

Mary Ellen Sickles 513 Ash St. Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 449-6694 rmsickles@comcast.net

Director at Large

Karen Crider 100 W Brunswick Dr #41 DeWitt, MI 48820 (248) 981-9692 karencrider@hotmail.com

Rally Cross Manager

Scott Beute 16261 Croswell St West Olive, MI 49460 (616) 405-8025 scott.beute@gmail.com

F&C - Flagging

Pete Hansen 12194 74Th Ave Allendale, MI 49401 (616) 895-7661 wmr.scca.membership@gmail.com

Assistant RE and Tech (Scrutineering)

Ed Maklenburg 300 Jacole Drive Milford, MI. 48380 (248)-685-2773 emaklenburg@frontier.com

<u>Director (Past RE) and</u> <u>Backfire Editor</u>

Jim Washburn 2385 Cedar Park Dr. Apt 310 Holt, MI 48842 (517) 242-0702 Jwashburn.us@gmail.com

Club Racing Program Manager

Bruce Beauvais 12974 Beardsley Greenville, MI 48838 (616) 754-9583 bruce.beauvais@gmail.com

Sound Control

Carola Basaj 4576 Clark St. Whitehall, MI 49461 (231) 740.8531 madmomlovesmath@gmail.com

F&C - Communications

Lydia Hansen 330 Watson St Coopersville, MI 49404 (616) 633-8923 liddyhansen@gmail.com

Treasurer, Timing & Scoring and Webmaster

Dave Ferris 6157 Nichols Rd Mason, MI 48854 (517) 290-7128 1988irocz28@gmail.com

Director (Past RE) and Course Control

Wayne Rogers 3615 Colonial Avenue N.E. Grand Rapids, MI 49525 (616) 238-6186 rogerswayne846@gmail.com

Solo Program Manager

Dan Moody 3360 Farm Ln Middleville, MI 49333 (269) 838-4352 dlmoody268@gmail.com

Radios and Starter

Bruce Beauvais 12974 Beardsley Greenville, MI 48838 (616) 754-9583 bruce.beauvais@gmail.com

Paddock and Membership Chair

Thomas Smolenski 1010 South Harbor Dr. Grand Haven, MI 49417 (616) 842-5027 tsmolenskis@yahoo.com

2023 NEW MEMBERSHIP

MATT MADISON

RYAN BARE

KEVIN ENGLAND

DAVID ESSENBURGH

JULIE FRENCH

ANDREW GNASS

STEPHEN GRACHECK

BETH HAYWARD

SAV HAYWARD

STEVEN HAYWARD

JASON KONDRAT

JOHN KORYTO

DAN WILSON

DEAN BERG

GAVIN BOOHER

BRUCE CLARK

JOHNATHAN D'SOUZA

HAGEN FRANK

SHANNON GIBERSON

MATTHEW HEIDLOFF

DAVID LAMBERT

WILLIAM MCCURDY

THOMAS SMITH

NATHAN WELCH

AARON ZEIGLER

ATHARVA DEOKULE

JITENDRA DEOKULE

JAMES KULMAN

JON VANDER WOUDE

JOHN MCELROY

BRETT TUTTLE CHANDLER MCCALLUM

JESSE PETRE

LONNIE STENGER

ERICA STEVENS

ANDREW ZIEGLER





GREGG CAMPBELL

TONY GENTILOZZI

JERROD KRAUSS

MARK-ANTHONY LOPEZ

MICHAEL TUOMI

CHASE VANDYNE

GINA VANDYNE

KEITH FELDOTT

MICHAEL FERLING

KRISTEN LIGENFELTER

CHRISTOPHER MATTSON

TAHA MOUSTAFA

DIAGO OMMITO

TIMOTHY ONEILL

DAN BESSIE

PARKER BURSK

CORY DEEDS

DAVID EMEOTT

MIKE GOOTHUIS

STANLEY HARRISON

DAVID THOMPSON

GUANGJING WANG

CHARLES BURSK

MATTHEW HUIZING

STEVE LINN

MEMBERSHIP RECOGNITION

Vicki Henry - 8 years

Rick Sheeran - 7 years

John Busch - 5 years

Timothy Green - 4 years

Scott Albers - 3 years

Angelic Hathaway - 3 years

Curt VanDuren - 3 years

Christopher Feldott - 2 years

Scott Kennedy - 2 years

Ryan Miller - 2 years

Joshua Sampson - 2 years

Ian Wenzel - 2 years

Jon Achterhof - 1 year

Jeffery Davis - 1 year

Thomas Elander - 1 year

Nathan Grigsby - 1 year

Kyle Scales - 1 year

Brenden Timmerman - 1 year

Edward Lublow 1971 - 52 years

Bruce Harington 1974 - 49 years

Bruce Kalin 1976 - 47 years

Bruse Beauvais - 36 years

Susan Beauvais - 36 years

Craig Weidner - 36 years

Lance Loughman - 27 years

Michael Fellmer - 26 years

Jeff Secor - 13 years

Ken Vander Vlist - 13 years

Eric Cronick - 10 years

David Savage - 10 years

Liesa Savage - 10 years

Peter Savage - 10 years

Rachel Start - 10 years